Czechia Imposes New Strict Entry Restrictions on 6 EU Countries

Czechia Imposes New Strict Entry Restrictions on 6 EU Countries

Czech authorities have strengthened restrictions for unvaccinated travelers from other six European countries, confirmed the Ministry of Health.

Due to rising infection rates, Spain, France, Monaco, Portugal, Poland, and Luxembourg were added to the list of nations deemed highly affected by the COVID-19 pandemic as of Nov. 29.

Unvaccinated visitors from these countries will henceforth be subjected to pre- and post-arrival PCR testing as well as mandatory quarantine.

“RT-PCR test before traveling to the Czech Republic, another RT-PCR must be performed within 24 hours after arrival in the Czech Republic and the third no earlier than the tenth day, but no later than the 14th day after arrival in the Czech Republic,” reads a press release.

“In the meantime, they must observe self-isolation and are required to wear an FFP2 respirator during the necessary journeys out.” 

czech flag on governmental building

Other EU countries on the Czech Republic’s read list are Belgium, Bulgaria, Denmark, Croatia, Liechtenstein, Latvia, Hungary, the Netherlands, Ireland, Iceland, Austria, Greece, Estonia, Lithuania, San Marino, Slovakia and Slovenia.

Regarding the new highly-contagious Omicron variant, travelers from South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, Swaziland, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Mozambique, and Zambia will be denied entry to enter the Czech territory until further notice.

Thousands of Czech citizens disagree with the new travel restrictions. On Sunday, loads of people rallied in Prague to protest the government’s new restrictive measures.

But, the daily caseload shows that such measures are justified to slow down the new dramatic wave of infections that threatens to overwhelm hospitals amidst an energy crisis following the collapse of a large electrical provider.

Just on Thursday, the country reported almost 28,000 new cases with 1,191 new cases per 100,000 residents over the past seven days. 

To fight this unprecedented increase in coronavirus infections, the Czech government issued a 30-day state of emergency and imposed special restrictions for the upcoming holidays.

As of today, all Christmas markets in the country have been closed and pubs, restaurants, nightclubs, discotheques, and casinos must close at 10 p.m.