Indonesia Bans All Travel from UK, Denmark and Norway

Indonesia Bans All Travel from UK, Denmark and Norway

Following the detection of the first Omicron case in Indonesia, the government has added three more European countries to its entry ban list.

The move means that travelers from the United Kingdom, Denmark, and Norway are no longer welcomed to the country due to the Omicron activity in their territories.

Minister Luhut Binsar Panjaitan stated that this is a preventative measure to help prevent the disease from spreading throughout the country.

“Currently there are 11 countries on the no-entry list. Based on the development of Omicron, the government has added the UK, Norway, and Denmark, and removed Hong Kong from the list,” Coordinating Minister for Maritime Affairs Luhut Binsar Pandjaitan, said earlier today.

People traveling to Indonesia for G20 matters may be granted an exception. Further details on the entry requirements can be found here.

The minister warned that other countries could be added to the list, which is updated on a weekly basis if the Omicron variant continues to extend.

Most passengers who have visited Angola, Botswana, Eswatini, Hong Kong, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Zambia, and Zimbabwe in the last 14 days will continue to be barred from entering the country.

indonesia beach

For now, the country remains open to citizens and permanent residents on high-level diplomatic state visits, as well as holders of APEC Business Travel cards.

Visitors from Bahrain, China, France, Hungary, India, Italy, Japan, Kuwait, Liechtenstein, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, and the United Arab Emirates are still welcome to visit Bali and the Riau Islands if they are fully vaccinated.

Travelers from these countries must show proof of vaccination and a negative COVID-19 test result obtained taken within 72 hours of arrival on the islands.

Health insurance covering COVID-19 quarantine and treatment, downloading and registering at the PeduliLindungi contact-tracing app as well as adhering to a 10-day mandatory quarantine is also required. 

The government is also further extending COVID-19 domestic restrictions from Dec. 24 to Jan. 3

Unvaccinated people aged 17 and up will face extra restrictions. Long-distance travelers must present proof of being fully vaccinated and a negative rapid antigen test taken within 24 hours before departure.