Japan To Lift Travel Restrictions On 106 Countries Including The U.S. From April 8

Japan To Lift Travel Restrictions On 106 Countries Including The U.S. From April 8

Japan has announced plans to further relax Covid-19 travel restrictions for overseas visitors from 106 countries including the U.S., and the UK, from April 8, said the government Wednesday. (Full list at the end).

Although this is a significant step forward in Tokyo’s efforts to reopen its borders to tourists, it does not imply a complete reopening.

Visitors from the 106 countries will not be denied entry to Japan starting Friday, however, foreigners visiting for tourist purposes will still be barred from entry.

Visas issued before December 2 will remain suspended, with the exception of diplomats, spouses of Japanese nationals, and permanent residents.

Only those looking to enter Japan under “special circumstances,” such as visits to terminally ill people or funerals, will be granted visas.

In a separate report from last week, Japan announced that as of April 10, the current daily cap on overseas arrivals of 7,000 people will be raised to 10,000 visitors.

After assessing the Covid-19 situation in Japan and considering border measures taken in other countries, Prime Minister Fumio Kishida stated that the government will continue to phase out border controls.

Without further ado, this is the complete list of the 106 nationalities that will be able to visit Japan from 0:00 am (JST) on April 8, 2022.

Asia: Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Timor-Leste

Oceania: Fiji

North America: Canada, United States of America

Latin America and the Caribbean: Argentine, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guyana, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay, Venezuela

Europe: Albania, Andorra, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, United Kingdom, Uzbekistan, Vatican

Middle East: Bahrain, Israel, Iran, Jordan, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates

Africa: Botswana, Cabo Verde, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Rwanda, Seychelles, Tunisia