malta opened for tourists with travel covid restrictions

Malta is Open for Tourism with Restrictions: Latest Updates

Malta is open for tourists from “green zone” countries but with few travel restrictions and entry requirements.

The Maltese government has recently updated its list of restricted countries. Foreign nationals visiting from “Green” countries will not have to submit a PCR test or quarantine. 

Travelers from the Amber list must submit a test taken within 72 before departure and undergo a 14-day mandatory quarantine.

Malta Reopening Tourism – Latest Updates

Malta, island country

17 FEB – Vaccination rollout

As of February 17, Malta has given at least one shot of the BioNTech/Pfizer or Moderna vaccines to 10 percent of its population of 515,000 people. 

Is Malta open for tourism?

It is, but there may be restrictions depending on where you are coming from. Find your country in the following lists to see what policies apply to you

Green-listed countries that can enter Malta without test or quarantine

People visiting Malta from a green-listed country will be granted entry and won’t need to take a COVID-19 test or quarantine.  

  • Australia
  • China (Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan included)
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • Iceland
  • Italy (Sicily and Sardegna)
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Portugal (Madeira, Azores)
  • Rwanda
  • South Korea
  • Spain (Canarias)
  • United Arab Emirates

Amber list of countries that need to take COVID test before entering Malta

Travelers coming from an amber-listed country will need to submit proof of a negative COVID-19 PCR test taken 72 hours before arrival.

  • Andorra
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Canada
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Estonia
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Indonesia
  • Ireland
  • Italy (all airports except Sicily and Sardinia)
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Latvia
  • Lebanon 
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Monaco
  • Morocco
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal (all airports except Madeira, Azores)
  • Romania
  • San Marino
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain (all airports except Canarias)
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Thailand
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Uruguay
  • Vatican City

Red list

Countries not included on the Green or Amber list belong on the Red List. 

Can people from the red list still enter the country?

Yes, but,

  1. They have to spend at least 14 days in one of the safe corridor countries before arrival and, 
  2. submit proof of a negative COVID-19 PCR test taken 72 hours before arrival.

Is it safe to visit Malta during COVID-19?

Malta is no longer on the list of the safest places to visit in Europe. (Epidemiology level 4) (

COVID situation in Malta

As of February 17, Malta has reported 19,945 confirmed cases and 295 deaths.

What are local restrictions in Malta?

Tourists in Malta

Plenty of activities have reopened in Malta. Click on the list to see the details. 

Is Greece Open for Tourism now?
Are Canary Islands Open for Tourism?
Italy COVID Travel Restrictions