Mexico Moved to CDC’ Highest Travel Alert List

Mexico Moved to CDC’ Highest Travel Alert List

The US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has added Mexico to its “very high” risk list, advising citizens not to travel to that country due to high rates of coronavirus transmission.

“The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has issued a Level 4 Travel Health Notice for Mexico due to COVID-19, indicating a very high level of COVID-19 in the country,” reads the press release

“Your risk of contracting COVID-19 and developing severe symptoms may be lower if you are fully vaccinated with an FDA authorized vaccine”

This “Do not Travel” health advisory comes just 7 days after the U.S. State Department also raised its travel advisory for the Mexican state of Quintana Roo, which includes, Cancun, Tulum, and Playa del Carmen due to a surge in violent crime.

cancun hotel zone

“In light of recent security incidents and criminal activity… U.S. citizens are reminded to exercise increased caution when traveling to the state of Quintana Roo,” reads the statement.

The US has added more than 60 nations and territories to its list of places to avoid since last December, citing the spread of Omicron infections as the primary cause.

As of Monday, Mexico had confirmed more than 4.9 million cases of COVID-19 and 305,000 deaths. Over the last 24 hours, the virus has claimed the lives other 198 people.

The nation has given over 165 million doses of vaccines against COVID-19 meaning that only 53.3% of its eligible population has been fully vaccinated.

The CDC also raised other 11 other countries to level 4, including five nations in South America.

The affected countries include Anguilla, Brazil, Chile, Ecuador, French Guiana, Kosovo, Mexico, Moldova, Paraguay, The Philippines, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines and Singapore.

cdc headquaters

Nearly 130 countries and territories are currently classified as “Level 4: Very High” by the CDC.

The health agency also raised its travel warnings for 11 countries and territories to “Level 3: High” including Bhutan, Brunei, Comoros, French Polynesia, the Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Honduras, Liberia, Nepal and Oman.