Portugal’s New Digital Nomad Visa Proves Popular With 200 Issued In 2.5 Months

Portugal New Digital Nomad Visa Proves Popular With 200 Issued In 2.5 Months

According to a recent report by Portugal Resident, authorities in Portugal have issued 200 visas for digital nomads in just two and a half months.

People from the United Kingdom, the United States, and Brazil benefited the most from this type of visa, according to the same source.

Additionally, digital nomads are eligible to apply for a five-year residency, which they can then convert to permanent residency, which is renewed every ten years. Foreign nationals must earn more than €3,040 per month in order to qualify for such a visa.

Portuguese authorities have already announced the introduction of a new work visa that will be beneficial for those who like to work remotely.

Holders of the digital nomad visa will be able to legally live and work remotely for companies outside of Portugal in a legal manner.

digital nomad meetup in Lisbon

An American expat claimed that Portugal’s notoriously complex bureaucracy would make it difficult to obtain such a visa there. This is due to Portugal’s reputation for being a difficult country to do business with.

“There’s very little quality control in the process; you end up with somebody very good at one embassy or one appointment and then somebody at the next one who just says no. Just be prepared for a year of intense paperwork and bureaucracy of immigration,” Amy Leavitt, who traded retirement in Vermont for Aljezur, stressed regarding the issue, according to a Fortune report.

Portuguese authorities are always trying to attract large numbers of foreigners who would help the country’s economy, which has recently been severely affected by the spread of the coronavirus and its new variants.

As the coronavirus spread, people began to view working remotely as a safe and beneficial option, and countries began issuing more visas to people who wanted to work remotely.

These visas are currently available from a number of countries, including Latvia, Italy, Spain, Greece, Hungary, Romania and the Czech Republic.