Denmark restricts travel from all countries to limit spread of COVID strains

denmark restrict all countries

Denmark has increased its travel-related restrictions in an attempt to limit the effects of the more contagious COVID-19 strains that have been discovered in the United Kingdom and South Africa.

A negative test result from within 24 hours of boarding a plane for Denmark must be presented at that time and at the border by all approved travelers who are 12 years of age or older, including Danish citizens and permanent residents returning home.

In fact, airlines are specifically prohibited from flying into Denmark if it cannot guarantee that all of its passengers have these negative COVID-19 test results.

Domestic flights are exempt from this restriction, which includes ones arriving from the Faroe Islands and Greenland, both autonomous territories of the Kingdom of Denmark.

This ban will last through Jan. 17. It is uncertain if it may be extended beyond that date.

Non-Danish citizens and permanent residents looking to enter Denmark will need to have a “worthy purpose” as well. Examples include being a close relative of a Danish citizen or permanent resident or being employed in Denmark.

Danish government officials have also urged their citizens to not engage in any international travel, a change from its previous recommendation that Danes only travel abroad if it is essential.

The COVID-19 strain that was initially detected in the U.K. has already arrived in Denmark; 86 cases were confirmed on Jan. 4. However, the South African strain has yet to be detected in the country.

The next day, Danish officials put into place greater domestic restrictions, including banning gatherings of more than five people, a reduction from 10, and social distancing needing to be 6-1/2 feet between people instead of 3-1/4. Mette Frederiksen, the country’s prime minster, added that individuals should limit interactions with anybody outside of their households as much as possible.