Indonesia Considers Visa-Free Access To Bali For Selectected Countries

Indonesia Considers Visa-Free Access To Bali For Selected Countries

The visa-free travel policy for citizens from 159 countries was formally ended by the Indonesian Immigration Department in June this year.

The Ministry replaced it with the visa-on-arrival program, which was nearly identical with the exception of one significant detail. Now, for a maximum of 30 days, visitors from 98 countries must pay IDR 500,000 per person for their visa. 

Tourists from neighboring ASEAN states could still enter Indonesia for free for up to 30 days, despite the fact that the policy change eliminated visa-free travel for the majority of Bali’s visitors.

Travelers from Indonesia, Thailand, Singapore, Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam, Brunei, Malaysia, Myanmar, and the Philippines are able to enter and exit ASEAN countries without a visa thanks to a reciprocal agreement.

This week, Indonesia’s Minister of Tourism and Creative Economies addressed the media regarding the possibility of restoring visa-free travel for the majority of foreign visitors to the nation.

Minister Sandiaga Uno has officially stated that he and his teams are suggesting that visitors from twenty countries—as well as the ASEAN countries—be entitled to enter Indonesia without a visa.

“Earlier it was decided to propose which countries would be proposed for visa-free visits. The Ministry of Tourism and Creative Economy proposed 20 countries with the highest number of foreign tourists outside of countries that have visa-free visits,” said Minister Uno.

“At the top are Australia, China, India, South Korea, the United States, England, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Japan, Russia, Taiwan, New Zealand, Italy, Spain, and five other additional countries are countries related to investment contributions and the economic impact on Indonesia, Middle Eastern countries such as the UAE, Saudi Arabia, Qatar and several other countries,” He continued. 

Although the discussion is still ongoing, Minister Uno stated that the proposal will be completed by the end of the following month.

“In the next month it will be finalized and after that, we will receive direction from the president and the policy will be followed up with immigration. We will coordinate with Prof Yasonna and the Director General of Immigration, Mr Silmy,” Minster Uno added. 

However, as of right now, travelers from 97 countries—including the 20 countries that Minister Uno mentioned—still have to pay for their visas in person at Bali Airport or online prior to their trip.

It is possible to apply for an e-visa on arrival at I Gusti Ngurah Rai International Airport up to 48 hours prior to arrival.

The visa is applicable for 30 days and is suitable for tourism, certain business-related engagements, and family visits. It is extendable once for an extra 30 days, subject to an additional fee.

Bali is set to implement a new tourism tax on February 14, 2024.

All foreign arrivals must pay the mandatory IDR 150,000 fee, and the money raised by the new tax will be used to address the island’s waste management problems.