Southwest To Keep Low Fares For Hawaii Island Hopping Until The End Of 2022

Southwest To Keep Low Fares For Hawaii Island Hopping

The special fares for island hopping in Hawaii will be available through the end of 2022 as per Southwest Airlines. Currently, the airline charges only $39 for a one-way flight between the islands.

From its hub at Honolulu International Airport (HNL) on the island of Oahu, the airline flies to five different locations on the island state. Two airports on the Big Island, Kona and Hilo, as well as Maui and Kuai, are served from there.

There is also daily service between Maui and Kona. In June, the airline added daily service between Maui and Kauai. A spokesperson for Southwest said,

“Since entering the Aloha State in Spring 2019 with interisland service, we’ve lowered airfares for Hawaii families and business travelers who had found it difficult to visit other islands for the many reasons air travel is uniquely necessary in Hawaii – business travel, medical care, shopping, as well as day trips for tourism.”

Southwest Airlines Boeing 737 MAX 8

“For mainland visitors coming before the end of the year, our 60 interisland flights among five airports in Hawaii also make it feasible to visit and support Island communities that are still recovering from the economic hit of the pandemic, while seeing more of diversity that makes Hawaii one of the most unique and special collection of communities on the planet.”

All of the usual amenities found in Southwest’s regular fares, such as two free checked baggage, non-expiring trip credits, and flexible booking options, are included with these tickets. Larger overhead storage bins, personal plug-ins for charging electrical devices, and improved WiFi are all improvements the airline hopes to provide to the inflight experience.

For just $59, travelers can also fly across the U.S. mainland during the fall and winter. The price applies only to one-way tickets and only for certain routes and time periods. Tickets must be purchased before midnight U.S. Central Time on Aug. 26.