U.S. Customs Set To Increase ESTA Fee For Inbound Tourists On May 26

U.S. Customs Set To Increase ESTA Fee For Inbound Tourists On May 26

US Customs and Border Protection (CBP) is set to rise the Electronic System for Travel Authorisation (ESTA) fee for inbound international travelers from May 26.

ESTA was introduced in 2009 and allows tourists and business travelers from 40 countries to enter the United States without a visa for stays of up to 90 days. This means that most European countries will be affected by the measure. 

ESTA is used by the organization to evaluate if inbound tourists are eligible for visa-free admission to the United States. Each authorization is valid for up to two years.

According to the notice, the new ESTA fee will be in effect until 2027, and this is the first increase since 2015.

The Department of Homeland Security plans to increase the ESTA fee from $14 to $21.  The Federal Register announced that the increase in the cost will include a $ 4 operating fee.

“The Department of Homeland Security said part of the travel promotion fee had risen from $ 10 to $ 17. An additional $ 7 ESTA fee will be supported by Brand USA. It is a public-private organization created to promote the United States as a tourism destination,” as per BTN Europe.

What is ESTA APP?

The ESTA app contains personal data and questions that help the Department of Homeland Security make decisions about travelers’ rights.

Before traveling to the United States, most visitors must apply for an ESTA. However, the Department of Homeland Security recommends that travelers apply for the ESTA well in advance of their trip.

Travelers from the following countries can apply for an ESTA visa:

  • Andorra
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Brunei
  • Chile
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Republic of Korea
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Monaco
  • The Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Portugal
  • San Marino
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • United Kingdom

In order to obtain an ESTA travelers should have an Electronic passport with a machine-readable area on the biographical page.

Notice that travelers who need a visa to enter the United States are NOT required to obtain an ESTA. 

For further information visit ESTA website.